No formats currently available for purchase on this release. This may be due to territorial / service restrictions or current stock availability.

I Rise (Francois K Remixes)

A 3 track house single (2m 15s) — released November 9th 2018 on Compost

Emilie Nana marks a strong return to Compost Records with a heavenly remix package for her latest offering on the label - "I Rise" – contributed by one of dance music's most respected and acclaimed figures – the mighty François K.

"I Rise" is the reflection of Emilie Nana's hatching and metamorphosis. With this record she makes us to witness her transformation from a state of chrysalide to butterfly. I Rise is the synonym for self assertion, as a determined african black woman and an ode to inspiring women, throwing in their energy in order to transform themselves.

Emilie Nana will bring you up! Her levitating voice, almost whispered, will overwhelm you. She will bewitch you like a great priestess whereas the musical backing is deep, hypnotic and steady tones. "I Rise is a denunciation", Emilie Nana claims! It is not only about a meditation but truly well a declamation. She clearly address to the oppressor. She speaks whit great assurance! She answers to decades of mistreatment. She is a black woman who's expressing herself proudly. A strongly personal music!

After Danny Krivit, who came up with the now classic re-edits for the initial release of "I Rise", it's now fellow New Yorker and Body & Soul compagnon François K who's sharing this strong sentiment. Like with Danny Krivit, the opportunity to working with a personality that gathers all ethnic origins together throughout his career and life like François Kevorkian - a living legend, whose production- and remix works for countless artists are beyond classics and covering a timeframe of more than four decades - is a big honour for Emilie Nana and of course for Compost Records in either way. Kevorkian's role as a mastermind in NYC nightlife is untouchable and the fact that he's still sharing his knowledge and forward thinking attitude towards dance music, keeps him going strong at the forefront of the international dance music scene. We feel happy and blessed to release François Kevorkian's masterclass remix works of "I Rise". Three different versions to play with – all brilliant and very special in his inimitable manner!

Emilie Nana's "I Rise" is based on the lyrics of the poem "Still I Rise" by Maya Angelou.

Early Support and Quotes on "I Rise":
Laurent Garnier: "EXCELLENT – this is a pure beauty....Loooove it"
Ron Trent: "Good to hear from you. Nice release...Please send this to me would love to rock it. Looking forward"
Kalabrese: "Beautiful. Like it. Very levitating and kicking.... will try the Danny Krivit Edit tonight"
King Britt: "Hell yes! Thank you. Give her my best"
Michel Cleis: "I love the song. Original is beautiful. Floatings / Ambiances are great and Emilie s voice is really nice. Danny's edits are great. Will play all this for sure. Thank you very much."

Quotes on "The Meeting Legacy" – Album 2016:
"Great new artists... today... eh... not so easy to come by... people who not only have great music, but also add something to it with their presence... people your actually driven to follow... because you know more great things are coming... Emilie Nana seems very passionate about her music & very much about what's right & wrong in the world... a face and a mind to the music... and a lot of heart too... someone I can't wait to hear what's next from... underground... poignant... cutting edge... I'm a follower :) Favorite track: Inward Path." DANNY KRIVIT (718 Sessions / Body & Soul NYC) via Bandcamp

"An impressive, promising debut album." GROOVE Mag
"Fresh, blistely, very creative and extremely exciting" FAZE (longplayer of the month)
"Smoothly sounding groover" INTRO
"A brilliant collection of electronica music that isn't afraid to bend the genres... a new-guard of future music is here."

Quotes on "The Meeting Legacy Remixes" – EP 2016
"Bad ass!! A new classic..staple in my record bag!" || OSUNLADE (Yoruba) via Bandcamp
"Nice package. Manoo Nanadub is the one for me I think." || Mano Le Tough
"Yes, great reworks by Manoo!" || Quarion
"Love the Beanfield & Thomas Herb Mix and the Manoo Dub." || Ewan Pearson
"This is wonderful! " || Luke Solomon

Additional airplays and DJ support by: Louie Vega, Anané Vega, Mr. Raoul K., Luciano, Matthias Meyer, Mirco Loco, Bill Brewster, Charles Webster, Claudio Coccoluto, Ingo Sänger, The Drifter, Manuel Tur and many more....

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.